Who Can Apply?

Direct beneficiaries of grants:

The Programme is open to all stakeholders promoting active European citizenship. For example:

  • Local authorities and organisations;
  • European public policy research organisations (think-tanks);
  • Citizens' groups;
  • Civil society organisations;
  • Non - governmental organisations;
  • Trade unions
  • Educational institutions;
  • Organisations active in the field of voluntary work
  • Organisations active in the field of amateur sport, etc.

Some actions of the Programme are however targeting a more limited range of organisations. The eligibility of applicant organisations is therefore defined in this guide specifically for each measure/submeasure.

Member states

The Programme is open to the Member States of the European Union, namely, as from 1 January 2007, the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia , Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom. The list below indicates the countries which participate in the programme: Croatia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia.

Potentially participating countries

The Programme can also be opened to other countries, namely the EFTA countries which are parties to the EEA Agreement (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway), the candidate country (Turkey) and Kosovo (under United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 , provided that certain legal and financial obligations are fulfilled i.e. signing a memorandum of understanding laying down details of their respective participation in the Programme), the acceding country, candidate countries and potential candidate, provided that certain legal and financial obligations are fulfilled. More information about the conditions of the participation of these countries can be found here: Focus 14